The 26th Annual Scientific Sessions of the Sri Lanka College of Microbiologists – 2017

The 26th Annual Scientific Sessions of the Sri Lanka College of Microbiologists will take place at the Sri Lanka Foundation on 31st August and 1st September 2017.

The Chief Guest is Professor Tim Inglis, Consultant Microbiologist, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, Nedlands, Western Australia and Professor (Pathology), School of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, University of Western Australia.

Other speakers include Dr Mark Atkins, Consultant Virologist (Specialty Lead), Ashford and St. Peter’s Hospitals, Surrey, Dr Sarman Singh, Professor & Head, Division of Clinical Microbiology & Molecular Medicine, Department of Laboratory Medicine, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, Dr Nelun Perera, Consultant Microbiologist, University Hospitals of Leicester, Hon Senior Lecturer, University of Leicester, Dr. Prabath Nanayakkara, Head, Section Acute Medicine, Department of Internal Medicine, VJ University Medical Centre, Amsterdam and Dr Carolyn Tarrant,  Associate Professor, SAPPHIRE, Department of Health Sciences, College of Medicine, Biological Sciences and Psychology,
University of Leicester.

Topics under discussion will include the National Action Plan to combat antimicrobial resistance, optimizing antimicrobial therapy using PK/PD, toxoplasmosis, the human microbiome, bloodborne viruses, viral infections in the immunocompromised, early warning systems (EWS) in infection and disruptive technologies in the diagnosis and ABST of infectious disease.

The Sessions are open to all clinical microbiologists, other doctors and scientists interested in these areas. Free paper sessions on bacteriology, virology, mycology and parasitology will be held and prizes awarded to the best oral and best poster presented at the sessions.